M. Baarmand (PSS/7), P. Converse (Psych/7), H. Crawford (CS/6), I. Delgado Perez (COB/6), A. Dutta (COB/7), E. Guisbert (Bio/7), A. Huser (Lib/6), M. Jensen (MAE/6), V. Kishore (CE/7), S. Kozaitis (Lib/7), B. Lail (ECE/6), M. Lavooy (Psych/7), D. Lelekis (SAC/7), G. Maul (OES/7), R. Mehta (Aero/5), A. Nag (PSS/7), J. Park (DEIS/6), L. Perdigao (SAC/7), P. Ray (OES/7), R. Rusovici (MAE/4), M. Silaghi (CS/7), S. Snelson (Math/7), N. Suksawang (MAE/6), R. van Woesik (Bio/7), R. Wehmschulte (Chem/7), N. Weatherly (SBA/7), B. Wheeler (Aero/7), K. Winkelmann (Chem/7)

K. Burke (SAC/5), O. Doule (CES), M. Kaya (BME/5), D. LeVan (CS/1), B. Morkos (MAE/3), S. Murshid (ECE/3), B. Paulillo (Psych/4), D. Platt (ESD/4), D. Sandall (COB/5), E. Subasi (ES/6), A. Walton (COB/1), A. Welters (Math/5), D. Yuran (SAC/6)

Stephanie Bacon (Alumni Affairs), William Bowman (Lib), Kastro Hamed (Math), Ed Kalajian (COES), Nasri Nesnas (Chem)
[NOTE: The attendance report above will be included in the minutes for each meeting to include the numbers present during the 2018-2019 academic year.]

President Winkelmann called the meeting to order at 3:30. The minutes from the Jan. 15 (no. 143) meeting were approved.

Special guest Dr. Kalajian was invited to speak about the Edward H. Kalajian Professorship Award. This is a professorship made in his name by family and friends and the endowment has grown enough to begin awarding it. Dr. Kalajian recommended that the recipient of the award be decided by the faculty senate, and specified that it should be someone strong in teaching and advising. The selection will be done in a similar way to the Faculty Excellence Award recipients and the selection committee members are Drs. Marc Baarmand, Brian Lail, and Beshoy Morkos. The award is restricted to full and associate faculty in COES, and the criteria has been distributed to faculty. The award will be \$5000 annually to be given as a bonus. It's a 5-year award but it is not portable if the professor leaves Florida Tech. Any questions about the monetary award should be directed to Stephanie Bacon in Alumni Affairs. The deadline is Feb 18 at 5pm and dossiers should be submitted as a single PDF file because review will be done electronically. The senate thanked Dr. Kalajian. Dr. Nesnas asked for clarification about y (

7. Task Force for reallocating senators: Sen. Silaghi has gathered information for half of the					
departments, and there are four more faculty members who have volunteered and will provide their collected information soon.					

practices from other schools, and Pres. Winkelmann responded that yes, other schools were looked at and one thing that has worked is to get information about a failing student to the

Demonstration of faculty discussion board (by Sen. Silaghi)

Sen. Sen. Silaghi introduced an online discussion board for Florida Tech faculty. This can be found at https://vote.fit.edu/senate. He explained that this is a tool for the senators to use to gather viewpoints from the faculty that they represent. It will provide a way to present arguments and endorse arguments that are already posted. He clarified that this is not in place of voting at Senate meetings. Concerns were raised about it not representing everyone or the notion that some might present their ideas multiple times since it is anonymous, but Sen. Silaghi reiterated that this is just an additional resource for faculty to get their viewpoints to senators.

Pres. Winkelmann asked if there should be a trial run, and it was suggested that we do so on the topic of advising. Sen. Silaghi has already had twelve faculty members test it out to make sure there are no technical problems. Pres. Winkelmann agreed to send a message out with details about participating in a trial of the discussion board on the topic of advising.

Call for nominations of AY 2020-2021 Senate President and Secretary

Pres. Winkelmann opened up nominations for these positions, and there will be a vote during the March 12 meeting.

Notificar-**X**an **X**a # sug@l©